CBHA Nationals underway; announce new league President

Newfoundland United got a goal by Kristin Cooze as it opened its schedule at the national senior women’s ball hockey championship in Vancover Monday with a 1-1 tie against Edmonton Red Light.

Meanwhile, Newfoundland Blackhorse, competing in the national men’s senior A event in Vancouver, played its first game late Monday — it was the last game of the opening day schedule — against the Vancouver Falcons.

The Blackhorse won bronze at last year’s Canadian championship in Ottawa, while the United claimed silver.

The biggest news involving Newfoundland ball hockey as the national tourneys opened actually came away from the playing suface.

Firstly, St. John’s has been named as host for the 2019 Canadian senior men’s and women’s championship. Secondly, Steve Power, president of Ball Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador, has been elected to a two-year term as president of the Canadian Ball Hockey Association.

The 45-year-old Power, who replaces Shelley Callaghan of Ontario, who had bveen president the last four years, is the third Newfoundlander to hold the post. Roger Barnett was president from 1982 to 1983, while Gerry Crew was in the job between 1988 and 1990.

Via The St. John's Telegram.