Niagara War Pigs win Men’s “A” Championship at 20th Anniversary World Outdoor Ball Hockey Championships presented by Bauer

For the third year in a row, the Men's "A" division saw the Toronto Leafs and Niagara War Pigs face off. With the Toronto Leafs having won the first two meetings the War Pigs wasted no time getting the game started. Fantastic goaltending on each end of the floor saw the first period remain scoreless.

Video via Bruised Camera

The War Pigs went into the second period breaking the tie with a goal by Darren Chapman just 47 seconds into the period. Munavar Hamdani and Michael Neilson also scored to give the Pigs the 3-0 advantage. Matt Tremblett set the tone for the third period scoring scoring just 24 seconds into the 3rd period to give the Leafs a two goal deficit. The action was fast and furious at both ends for the remainder of the period but after the Pigs got an empty net goal the writing was on the wall.

Congratulations to the Niagara War Pigs for winning the Men’s “A” Division yesterday at the World Outdoor Ball Hockey Championships. They defeated the Toronto Leafs 4-2 to win their first WOBHC “A” Championship.

The winning team is Marshall Boyes, Graham Campbell, Jay Capaldi, Jeff Capaldi, Darren Chapman, Sandeep Dhaliwal, James Downes, Michael Formica, Gage Gonyou, Munavar Hamdani, Bram Leggat, Matt Martello, Ryan Nagy, Michael Neilson, Kyle Owsijenko, John Rorison, Michael Stewart, Brian Szolga, Eric Tardif & Joel Vanvliet.

The 2017 World Outdoor Ball Hockey Championships will be taking place September 22-24, 2017.